The Coldest Girl In Coldtown – Holly Black

Okay, so let me just start off by saying that this is the first non-contemporary book that I have read in a while! I mean before I read this, I probably read 5 contemporary books in a row plus a graphic novel so I was away from the paranormal world for a while, but I actually loved this book!

The coldest girl in Coldtown is about a world where vampires are very real and the humans know about the vampire community. Places with mass breakouts of vampirism have been quarantined for many years (cold towns). Even the humans within these quarantined walls cannot leave. From that, we follow a girl named Tana Bach who goes to a sundown party with a bunch of kids from school and her ass-ish of an ex-boyfriend. When she wakes up the next day, everyone is dead except her, her ex-boyfriend (who is in transition to becoming a vampire) and some vampire boy. After a bunch of badassery, they escape the house full of vampires and go to Coldtown, only to be thrown into a shit loads of problems. From betrayal to murder to a celebrity vampire. 

I haven’t read anything from Holly Black in a very long time but I was pleasantly surprised with this book. The writing style is very easy to follow and Tana was very mature so it was quite simple to be on track with her. Due to my extensive and ever growing TBR, I love that this is a stand alone. Black does a good job at balancing the relationships along with the action. I especially liked that a lot of different types of relationships were expressed from gay, straight, bi, and transgender. It was refreshing to see that in a paranormal setting in YA. 

I did not have any problem with Tana. I thought she was brave and head strong but still very relatable and human. I liked Aiden’s complex personality and Gavriel’s poetic melodrama. 

The ending was a bit too bittersweet for me but overall I really enjoyed it. I recommend this to anyone who loves vampires or someone who wants to read something by Holly Black.

4/5 stars.

Sincerely,

B

Leave a Reply

