Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell Review

  
So, where should I start? 

C has been begging me to read this book for a very long time and I’m happy to say that I finally read it! I can understand all the hype surrounding Rainbow Rowell and her novels now that I have completed one. 

Even though most of you probably already know, I will give you a synopsis: 

The story revolves around a girl named Cath and her experience going into her first year of college. Cath is introverted and deeply passionate about her popular fan fiction that she has been writing for two years. When she moves into campus at her new college, Cath and her twin sister Wren grow apart due to their polar personalities. As if that isn’t bad enough, she finds herself crushing on her crazy roommate’s “sort-of” boyfriend, her dads becoming more unstable and her mother is trying to pop herself back into the picture. 

Rowell does a great job at using Cath as the typical college freshman. She is very relatable and genuine in her new experiences which is a huge reason why I really enjoyed it. I will admit Cath wasn’t my favourite at the beginning but she did grow on me. Her sister however, I always had a problem with. I never really understand her character that much but I’m glad they worked out their differences in the end. I found Cath’s roommate was very similar to Joshs’ first girlfriend in Stephanie Perkins ‘ books but that’s fine. I loved the relationship Cath has with her father. 

[SPOILERS] I gained huge respect for Cath for not letting her mother back into her life without a fight. I’m really happy that was issued. I love that Cath and Reagan people watch in the dining hall; it’s very realistic, as something I think we have all done a few times. The only part I have a problem with (besides Wren), is towards the end when Levi and Cath have that argument about the fan fiction deadline and when Cath is afraid Levi will compare her to her sister. I mean, I thought that Levi understood the way Cath felt about Simpn and Baz and that she needed to finish her story before the actual one ended.. But then that happened and I was kind of confused. Also, I saw some real character development in Cath as the book went on and frankly I was disappointed that she still thought Levi would prefer Wren over herself. Oh well, I suppose we all have flaws. [SPOILERS] 

Rowell has a beautiful writing style that grips readers from the start. Her characters are fun and genuine and distinct. Although I did like Levi, and I completely understand why so many people are in love with him, I don’t think he’s fit to be my fictional boyfriend… Which is good, considering C has called dibs on him for a while. 

I appreciate the way Rowell is able to describe a setting and I can perfectly picture it in my head without feeling like she over described or took too much time that could have been used on plot. I think she is very talented for her ability to do that. She also does this with characters; describing minimal features so readers are still able to visualize the character the way they see them. 

For the verdict, I recommend this book to anyone starting their first year of school, whether is college, university or high school or to anyone who likes contemporary. 

4.5/5 stars 

Sincerely,

B

Leave a Reply

