If You Like This… Then You’ll Like That!

Hi everyone! So for today, I am going to try to recommend books based on other books you might have read and enjoyed. This is a popular Youtube video idea but it still works here! I’ve tried my best to choose different types of genres as well. Let’s get started!

1. If you like:                                                     Then you might like:

starflight  zenithBoth of these books take place in space with badass female characters and space pirates. I think they both give off the same kind of vibe which is why I have grouped them together. Starflight follows a girl who is trying to escape her planet and live life on the outer rim where she doesn’t have to follow absurd rules. she finds herself with a crew who are running away from less than friendly people and tags along for the adventure. Zenith follows a group of girls who are known in the galaxy for their piracy and gives-no-shit attitude. when their past catches up with them, they are given an ultimatum: help the governor find his missing son, or be executed. 

2. If you like:                                                    Then you might like: 

missing  need.jpgThese two books don’t share many similarities when it comes to plot, however, the feeling that I got when reading them both are the same. Missing is about a small town that no one who lives in really likes. The majority of teenagers in high school have a plan to leave the town once they graduate like so many did before them. When Winter discovers a body in the woods, threads of her smalltown life start to unravel and she begins to wonder if the people actually left or if they’re really just missing. Need, on the other hand, is all about this new social media app that grants you anything you wish for. you just ask for something you “need”, complete a task and your wish is granted to you. When the tasks start getting more and more extreme and the body count rises, Kaylee must discover who is actually behind this “game” and she learns how far people are willing to go to get what they need. Both books share a thriller type feeling that leaves the reader on edge. 

 3. If you like:                                                   Then you might like:

Fangirl.jpg  Geekerella  These two books are super adorable, cute and so well written. Fangirl follows a girl named Cath who is in her first year of college. Cath is an introvert who loves to read and write fan-fiction and would rather be doing that than going out to parties like her twin sister. It follows her path to self-discovery and how she handles all the stress that comes with living away from home. Geekerella is a magnificent, modern-day retelling of Cinderella and was one of my favourite books of 2017! It follows Elle, a young girl living with her two step-sisters and step-mother after her father passes away. When she finds out there is going to be a remake of her favourite series, she’s less than happy to find out who’s playing the main character. it’s told from two points of view; neither of them knowing who the other one really is although they continue talking every day. When the series convention comes around, Elle will do whatever it takes to go but she is met with something she wasn’t quite ready to find. These books are just….😍 

4. If you like:                                                   Then you might like:

sea of shadows.jpg           the winner's curse.jpgBoth of these fantasy trilogies are action packed, fast paced and full of emotion. Sea of Shadows reads like a traditional high fantasy story with magic, political intrigue and badass characters. When the spirits of the damned are awakened, twin sisters Ashyn and Moira are faced with monsters they never thought were real. The world is being ravaged by mythical beasts and it’s up to them to set it right. grouped with an imperial guard and an exiled thief, they set out to warn the emperor of the future dangers, however, a frightening secret awaits them in court. The Winner’s Curse is more of an urban fantasy set in a different world. Kestrel is the daughter of the governor of her country so her only options are to join the military or marry; however, Kestrel has a different idea. When she connects with a slave up for sale, she instantly buys him, but she has to keep her feelings for him hidden. It isn’t long before she discovers that he has a secret of his own and the price she paid may have been more than she was willing to part with. 

That’s all I have for now. I hope you enjoyed this and hopefully, it helped you find some books you might enjoy. Until next week,

Sincerely,

B ❤

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s